Posted in Uncategorized

Warrior Symbols & Signs

Recently my friend got in contact over an awesome work mission she had…to find her warrior symbol! After talking through it and trying to strip it back to its core, she still can’t see or feel her symbol.

My friend’s assignment got me thinking about my warrior symbol, the first image that came to mind was the weightlifting emoji… I didn’t feel like that was true though, “an emoji can’t be my warrior symbol?!”

I thought about it again.

I closed my eyes and I saw a fire burning bright in the pitch black and I felt it. I felt the power, the strong will and determination. I opened my eyes and knew that my warrior symbol was fire. Shortly after a reflective ramble in my journal about how the warrior symbol is “so me” I looked out of the window and saw a white plane gliding across the blue sky. In that very moment, I was transported back to a park bench.

It’s 2013 and it’s lunch time, which means most of my co-workers, no…all of my co-workers are eating their sandwiches at their desk. But I on the other hand, like to go for my daily walk to the nearby park.

It’s a beautiful huge park with deer. Most of the time the deer don’t pose too well for my lunch time selfies but hey, seeing them is the highlight of my day so I can’t complain.

After completing my walk, I like to take a seat in the middle of a park bench overlooking a duck-filled pond. I throw the ducks some of my bread-crust as it’s not my favourite bit and also, it’s nice to share.

I remember sitting there on my own, happy, but not happy with my job. I remember looking up at the trees in the distance, knowing those tree tops were pointing back to the city. My heart ached to be back in the busy city of London. I liked writing as a job, don’t get me wrong, but I wanted something more. As I thought about this I looked up, above and past the trees, when I spotted a X in the sky.

The X was made out of those lines that planes leave behind. Sometimes when planes cross over at different times, their cloud trail can still be seen, so you know they were here not too long ago.

I always believed that these X’s in the sky were a sign for me, leading me in the direction my heart and soul needed me to move in. I held on tighter to my sandwich and smiled as I looked at the sky. I definitely looked like a weirdo in the park, but I was a weirdo who was sure about her future because I could feel it. I could feel the faith and hope fill my lungs. I took a deep breath in and smiled.

2018, at my desk, I watch the plane fly out of sight past my window. I take a deep breath in and smile. I’m filled with the same feeling again. It’s funny how certain things can bring back those memories and the emotions that go with them.

Shortly after that flashback, I started to reflect on how that moment at the park bench changed everything. How I felt and how things fell into place once I was sure. I looked back on all the extraordinary experiences and people I met along the way. It was all worth it and better yet, those X’s did lead me back to central London! The place where my heart ached to be. Those X’s were right and so was my gut. Sometimes, we just need to tune in and listen to our intuition.

Sometimes…it’s hard to decode signs and symbols.

I guess they’re just things we decide to give meaning to. But that meaning we assign to them, those feelings we assign to them, they can lead onto beautiful things… Allowing ourselves to blossom from the inside-out.

My friend is still stuck on her mission, to find her inner warrior symbol. Currently she has upgraded from a pencil to a leaf.

At the moment, I feel a strong connection with birds again and every time I see them float across the sky it feels like magic. I wonder, what’s your warrior symbol, and has it carried you to your truth yet?

Author:

I am a creative script writer and puppeteer who one day hopes to meet The Muppets, but in the mean time, I write scripts for animation, plays, adverts to being a puppeteer assistant. Life is a gift and I'm grateful for living my dream! Writer's Bio: Winner of Top Shorts (LA) Best Comedy Screenplay. Cannes Screenplay Contest Official Finalist. New York Screenplay Contest Official Finalist. Hollywood Just4Shorts Winner & Official Finalist. Dilpreet Kaur Walia is convinced that she is not only a creative animation script writer and puppeteer but is also a Disney Princess, after all, her name translates from Punjabi-to-English as Heart Love Princess Warrior. She hopes that her stick-fighting and writing skills help her live up to her name’s meaning. Dilpreet has had her animated comedy performed live in the heart of the West End in London’s Phoenix Artist Club, this script has gone on to become a Quarter-finalist in the US with BlueCat’s Screenplay Contest. As well as this, one of her screenplays were selected as a Semi-finalist, in the US, with WeScreenplay’s ‘Diverse Voices’ competition. Shortly after graduating with a MA in Screenwriting at Met Film School, based at Ealing Studios, her animated feature film script was chosen as a Quarter-finalist with Screencraft’s ‘Family Friendly Screenplay Contest’. Recently, Dilpreet has written children’s TV scripts for The Imaginarium, Ben & Anvil, Stikbot as well as adverts and campaigns for various clients such as Sandows, DirectorsUK, The Royal Marsden and Keep Britain Tidy. Aside from writing, Dilpreet has also worked as a Puppeteer Intern on the Sesame Street & Cbeebies co-production called ‘The Furchester Hotel’. She was delighted to voice and puppeteer ‘Muppet Dilpreet’ who appears in four episodes of the show. Also in the past, Dilpreet’s children’s TV script was shortlisted with the BBC’s ‘Get a Squiggle On’ competition. Currently, Dilpreet is juggling being a script editor, writing for animation and puppeteering. Like Hercules, Dilpreet believes she can go the distance with her dreams! Que Rocky theme-tune.

Leave a comment